Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Professional Designations

The association offers a variety of certification programs to fit the needs of our members.

Your Education Coordinator: email

To find upcoming classes click here.

CISRLogo.jpgThe Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) Program trains new agents and CSRs to better understand and analyze risks and exposures. 

Obtaining the CISR Designation

There are nine courses to choose from, allowing customization for your personal career path.  Upon successful completion of five courses and examinations students are awarded the CISR designation.

Students have three years from passing the first multiple choice exam to earn the CISR designation.  Each topic is approved for continuing education credit.  

Retaining the CISR Designation 

To retain the CISR designation, annual continuing education is required. Designees may fulfill the yearly update by attending one of the following:

  • CISR course (exam not required)
  • William T. Hold seminar
  • Dynamics of Service seminar
  • CIC institute (fulfills update for 2 years)


​Agency Operations
Commercial Casualty I - CGL, Additional Insureds
Commercial Casualty II - BAP, WC, Excess Liability
Commercial Property
Personal Residential Property
Personal Auto Exposures
Personal Lines - Miscellaneous
Life & Health Essentials 
Elements of Risk Management
CISR-Elite.pngNow that you're a Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR), take it one step further with the CISR Elite designation.
Once you’ve completed and passed all nine CISR courses (the first five courses within three years and the remaining four courses within an additional three years), you will earn the highest recognition for those in customer service anywhere.
At the same time, earn CISR update credit and fulfill your CE requirements.
CISR Elite is an excellent opportunity to demonstrate commitment to the agency, the client, and your own personal growth.
CIC-Logo.jpgThe Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) Program provides an in-depth practical approach to education for insurance agents and other insurance practitioners.

The five institutes are designed to provide more advanced technical knowledge in all areas of the insurance industry.

Obtaining the Designation

To earn the CIC designation, participants must successfully complete each course and short answer exam within five years. Each institute is approved for 20 hours of continuing education credit.

Retaining the CIC Designation

To retain the CIC designation, annual continuing education is required. Designees may fulfill the yearly update by attending one of the following:
  • CIC institute
  • James K Ruble Graduate seminar
  • Certified Risk Manager course
  • Any National Alliance Dynamics program (except CISR)  

Core Courses

Agency Management Institute
Commercial Casualty Institute
Commercial Property Institute
Life & Health Institute
Personal Lines Institute
jk_ruble_logo.jpgAdvanced and specialty topics, camaraderie among a network of CICs and CRMs nationwide, and expert faculty combine to make the James K. Ruble Graduate Seminar higher education at its best. 
Designed to provide advanced training for CICs, the Ruble Graduate Seminar provides:
  • Variety of topics on property and casualty, marketing, sales, sales management, life and benefits
  • Concurrent sessions on the second day
  • Practical options that examine real-life examples and complex exposure issues.
  • 16 hours of continuing education credit
  • Annual update credit
Use what you learn here to explain to your clients the presence of specified risks and the most effective methods for remedying them.

*Only dues-paid members of CIC and CRM may attend.

The Agribusiness and Farm Insurance Specialist (AFIS) program is a continuing education curriculum focusing on the insurance and risk management needs of agribusiness and farm operations.

Obtaining the Designation

The core curriculum for the AFIS program consists of five parts that can be taken in any order. To earn the certification, participants must successfully complete the   Upon successful completion of the five core courses and examinations, students are awarded the AFIS designation. Students have five (5) years to take all five parts.  

Retaining the AFIS Designation  

To retain the AFIS designation, ongoing continuing education is required.

  • Six (6) hours annually of an AFIS approved CE topic
  • Every third year after obtaining the designation, attendance at an Emmett J Vaughan Agribusiness Conference


Farm Property

Farm Liability

Farm Auto, Workers Comp, and Umbrella

Special Farm Property Insurance Lines

Miscellaneous Farm Insurance Lines

cris-hardhat-white-background.jpgThe Construction Risk and Insurance Specialist (CRIS®) program is a specialized curriculum focusing on the insurance and risk management needs of construction projects and contractors.  

Those who complete the program are entitled to display the CRIS certification to certify their knowledge of construction insurance and risk management and dedication to the industry.  

Obtaining the Designation

To obtain the CRIS certification, you complete 5 specialized courses on construction risks and insurance, passing all 5 exams.

Retaining the Designation

To retain the CRIS designation, ongoing continuing education is required.  You may fulfill the requirement by completing an approved construction risk and insurance course.
  • 7 hours in the first 24 months after receiving the designation
  • 7 hours each year after the first 24 months
Core Courses

Commercial Auto, Surety, CIPS and Miscellaneous Lines

Commercial Liability Insurance for Contractors

Contractual Risk Transfer in Construction

Property Insurance for Contractors

Workers Compensation for Contractors